General Information of Warsaw

The capital of Poland is located on both banks of the Vistula River. Warsaw offers you an unlimited number of attractions: historical sights, monuments, museums, theatres, Chopin’s enchanting music. From Castle Square to Chopin Monument, from Łazienki Park to Wilanów Palace, Warsaw is an exciting city waiting to be discovered.

By air. Passengers flying to Poland are initially greeted by the sight of Warsaw’s Chopin International Airport, only 30 minutes drive from the downtown. It plays host to many of the world’s leading airlines. Polish traditional carrier is LOT Polish Airlines. Regularly scheduled service is available from over 30 major air centres in the West and in the East, from North America and Far East. By rail. It is an excellent way for a traveller to reach Warsaw from the leading cities and capitals of Europe. The modern trains Eurocity (EC) and Intercity (IC) offer rapid and regular service between major points of interest like: Warsaw-Berlin (6 h), Warsaw-Budapest (10 h), Warsaw-Prague (8 h).

To reach the city centre you can use public transportation:
– Bus number 175 runs to the centre and around the Old Town (Stare Miasto)
– Bus numbers 148 and 188 run to the ‘other’ side of the river, to Praga, Grochów and Gocław
– Night bus number N32 runs to the city centre
Transport tickets are needed to use all lines.
In front of the Terminal is a taxi stop, with selected and reliable taxi companies: Ele Taxi, Sawa Taxi, Super Taxi.
There is a multilevel car park at the airport where you can leave your car for several hours or several days.
In 2012 the new Modlin Airport ( has been opened. It is located around 35 km north-west from the city centre.

The official Polish unit of currency is the zloty, the major convertible foreign currencies may be changed into Polish zlotys at banks, hotels and at private currency-exchange offices – the kantors. The major traveller’s checks can be changed and all major credit cards are accepted. EUR 1 is at present about PLN 4,1.

Visa Requirements
Visitors entering Warsaw, Poland are bounded by the Schengen Agreement, in which Poland is a part of. For citizens coming from Schengen-member countries, no visa is required to enter Warsaw, but national ID must be ready to show at all times. Three months (90 days) is the allowable stay for tourists only.

The Schengen area consists of Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

Citizens from countries not requiring a Visa when entering as tourist and allowed to stay for 90 days:

Andorra Argentina Australia Austria
Belgium Bolivia Brazil Brunei
Bulgaria Canada Chile Costa Rica
Croatia Cyprus Czech Denmark
El Salvador Estonia Finland France
Germany Greece Guatemala Honduras
Hong Kong Hungary Iceland Ireland
Israel Italy Japan Latvia
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao
Malaysia Malta Mexico Monaco
Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Norway
Panama Paraguay Portugal Romania
San Marino Singapore Slovaki Slovenia
South Korea Spain Sweden Switzerland
UK USA Uruguay Vatican


© Copyright © ICEOE 2016. All rights reserved.